Melbourne Storm coach Craig Bellamy has named his squad for this Friday’s 1st pre-season trial game against the Manly Sea Eagles. The game will be played at Bluetongue Stadium in Gosford, NSW from 7:30pm.


The first-grade clash will be preceded by a NSW Rugby League Cup clash between Central Coast Storm and Manly at 5:30pm, and an Under-20’s game between Melbourne Storm and Manly Sea Eagles from 4:00pm.


The first-grade game will be divided into three 30-minute periods, with the Storm fielding a young team for the opening period, with a full-strength team taking to the field in the second period. The make-up of the team for the third period will be decided on the night.


Due to Cam Smith’s unavailability for the World Club Challenge against Leeds Rhinos on February 29, he will play in the first 30-minute period, with Matt Geyer taking the number 9 jersey for the second period.


Antonio Kaufusi will make his long-awaited return to action in the front-row after suffering a season-ending knee injury during the 2007 State-of-Origin series.


Former Brisbane Bronco Clifford Manua will get his first chance to impress in the front-row alongside Kaufusi in the first period.


After leaving Melbourne in 2004 and spending three years playing rugby in Scotland, Ben MacDougall will don the Storm colours once again when he lines up in the centres during the first period.


With Greg Inglis out injured and not likely to return to action until at least Round 3 of the NRL season, Russell Aitken gets his chance to impress in the five-eighth spot when he takes to the field during the second period.


Squad for Friday’s game:


First period starting team:

1. Jade Williams

2. Russell Webber

3. Ben MacDougall

4. Dane Nielsen

5. Joseph Tomane

6. Alex Moore

7. Liam Foran

8. Antonio Kaufusi

9. Cam Smith

10. Clifford Manua

11. Lucas Miller

12. Kevin Proctor

13. Sinbad Kali



14. Regan Tanner, 15. Aiden Guerra, (remaining interchange players selected from Central Coast Storm team)


Second period starting team:

1. Billy Slater

2. Steve Turner

3. Will Chambers

4. Israel Folau

5. Anthony Quinn

6. Russell Aitken

7. Cooper Cronk

8. Brett White

9. Matt Geyer

10. Jeff Lima

11. Jeremy Smith

12. Ryan Hoffman

13. Dallas Johnson



14. Sam Tagataese, 15. Adam Blair, 16. Sika Manu, 17. Aiden Tolman


Third period starting team:

Players will be selected to play during the third period on the night


Coach: Craig Bellamy.

By ricky

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.