Australian Kangaroos 2009 SquadThe Australian Kangaroo side for the 4 Nations Tour of Europe has been named with some surprising selections. While veteran Nathan Hindmarsh was recalled and consistent prop Petero Civoniceva retained his position – many were left scratching their heads as to how Paul Gallen could make this squad?

Gallen; considered by most to be the dirtiest player in Rugby League has toiled hard in 2009, but seemed to be nowhere near the top crop of players – certainly in the back half of the season.

David Shillington was the surprise selection in the Kangaroo Squad for late 2009. The former Roosters prop, showing some good form for the Raiders – being rewarded with the National Jersey.

The other concern may be Israel Folau. While there is no questioning the attacking ability of this outside back, his defence was really exposed by Melbourne during the 2009 finals series and this could pose a serious threat to the Australian side when opponents attempt to exploit it.

Full Squad:

Australian squad named for the Four Nations rugby league tournament in Europe: Petero Civoniceva (Penrith), Cooper Cronk (Melbourne), Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers), Israel Folau (Brisbane), Paul Gallen (Cronulla), Kurt Gidley (Newcastle), Ben Hannant (Bulldogs), Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta), Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta), Justin Hodges (Brisbane), Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne), Greg Inglis (Melbourne), Michael Jennings (Penrith), Darren Lockyer (capt, Brisbane), Luke Lewis (Penrith), Josh Morris (Bulldogs), David Shillington (Canberra), Billy Slater (Melbourne), Cameron Smith (Melbourne), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland), Trent Waterhouse (Penrith), Anthony Watmough (Manly), Brett White (Melbourne).

By ricky

One thought on “Australian Kangaroo side named”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.