David Loko

Papua New Guinea have named their expected side for the Prime Minister’s XIII clash against Australia, pending final approval from Papua New Guinean Prime Minister, Peter O’Neill.

As expected, following their recent win in the grand final of the Digicel Cup, the Rabaul Gurias have the biggest contingent of players with 8.

Selectors watched the grand final of the Digicel Cup, before going behind closed doors to select the 18-man squad, as well as putting together a 40-man squad for the 2013 Rugby League World Cup.

Ivan Ravu, the Papua New Guinean Rugby Football League Caretaker Administrator, said that the team was made up entirely of Digicel Cup players.

“The team has been picked and submitted through the Sports Minister for the Prime Minister to sign off, before we officially release it,” Ravu said yesterday.

Ravu was not giving too much away, refusing to confirm if Adrian Lam, the Kumuls coach, would be the one to lead the side.

“A squad was picked earlier in the Digicel Cup season, and it has just been a matter of consistency right through, with a look in on players who were not there before and have been outstanding towards the back end of the season,” Ravu added.

The side is as follows:

1. Albert Patak (Rabaul Gurias) 2. Gary Lo (Mt Hagen Eagles) 3. Thompson Teteh (Goroka Lahanis) 4. Jacky Markus (Rabaul Gurias) 5. Chris Jerry (Rabaul Gurias) 6. Dion Aiye (Rabaul Gurias) 7. Ase Boas (Rabaul Gurias) 8. Gonzella Urakusie (Goroka Lahanis) 9. Charlie Wabo (Mendi Muruks) 10. Rodney Pora (Rabaul Gurias) 11. David Loko (Enga Mioks) 12. Sebstian Pandia (Port Moresby Vipers) 13. Glen Nami (Goroka Lahanis).

Interchange: 14. Wartovo Puara Jr. (Rabaul Gurias) 15. Werr Mark (Mendi Muruks) 16. Jackson Undi (Mendi Muruks) 17. Pasu Awane (Enga Mioks) 18. Kot Kerua (Rabaul Gurias) 19. Israel Eliab (Port Moresby Vipers).

By ricky

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.