It may not be a hugely popular sport at this stage, but as it grows and increases in the country, it will soon flourish – as Ukranian rugby league goes one step closer to continued rugby league development, completing a Rugby League Federation Technical Strategy course, the latest European country to do so.

The course, which is designed to train and qualify coaches and tutors at a local level is continually ongoing, with Phase 3 Coaching and Phase 2 Match Officiating the order of the day, with a total of 6 tutors in total graduating, as well as five new coaches and nine referees.

Danny McNiece, who oversaw the two-day course, said that the Ukranians have a very good structure in place and are on their way to seeing more tutors and coaches graduate in the future.

“They have a very strong development structure in place and have identified some excellent tutors. I have no hesitation in saying that the future for refereeing in the Ukraine is bright,” said McNeice, who had no hesitation in endorsing the tutors’ first locally qualified batch of referees.

The 4 Ukranian tutors that graduated were: Igor Urkin, Vladimir Mazepa, Sergei Kravchenko and Artur Martyrosyan.

Martyrosyan, who is also the Ukranian Federation of Rugby League President, said that the steps had to be taken, in order to improve the quality of season before the new one gets underway.

“These steps were very necessary for us right now – before the start of the new season and to increase the quality of the championship,” said the UFRL president, Artur Martyrosyan.

“I think we conducted it on a high level and now we can look to the future of preparing new rugby league coaches and match official personnel in our country.”

RLEF Level 1 coaches: Egor Yaroshenko (Dnepropetrovsk), Velor Mesitskii (Simferopol), Vitalii Andriets (Lugansk), Svyatoslav Minenkov (Krivoy Rog) and Igor Shevtsov (Kharkov).

RLEF Level 1 match officials: Andrei Bashevskii (Kharkov), Igor Uraichik (Donetsk), Aleksandr Turnaev (Kharkov), Aleksei Shkol’nyi (Kharkov), Vladimir Loban’ (Kharkov), Viktor Ostapenko (Krivoy Rog), Vladimir Mashkin (Kharkov), Karina Obramyan (Rostov-on-Don, Russia) and Igor Urkin (Krasnoarmeysk).

By ricky

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.