It is a competition slowly gaining traction and popularity among more NRL fans, as the New South Wales Rugby League announce their 13-team competition for the 2013 VB New South Wales Cup competition.

One new team you may notice in the competition, is that of the Wyong Roos, who had their application accepted for the 2013 season – as the Melbourne Storm and Albury Thunder continue to work with the NSWRL, about the possibility of a feeder team based in Albury for 2014.

“Wyong’s entry into the VB NSW Cup and the thought of Albury entering in the near future is a real positive for this competition,” NSWRL General Manager, Geoff Carr said.

“Newcastle’s return this year, along with Canberra’s partnership with Mounties, helped strengthen the competition to the point where we had twelve teams vying for a finals berth in the last few rounds of the regular season.

“The competition also pro

duced 36 debutants for the Telstra Premiership, which was an increase of five from the 2011 season and significantly more than the other second tier competitions.”

The plan for scheduling is to continue to take games to country areas, much like the Newtown Jets and the Windsor Wolves did last season, when they played a game in Parkes.

The entire draw for the NSW Cup is expected to be released to the public by the end of November.

Full VB NSW Cup Teams List

Auckland Vulcans (New Zealand Warriors).
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Canterbury Bulldogs)
Cronulla Sharks (Cronulla Sharks & Melbourne Storm)
Illawarra Cutters (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles (Manly Sea Eagles)
Mounties (Canberra Raiders)
Newcastle Knights (Newcastle Knights)
Newtown Jets (Sydney Roosters)
North Sydney Bears (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Wentworthville Magpies (Parramatta Eels)
Wests Tigers (Wests Tigers)
Windsor Wolves (Penrith Panthers)
Wyong Roos (No club affiliation)


By ricky

4 thoughts on “NSWRL announce 13 teams for 2013 VB NSW Cup competition”

Comments are closed.